Special to The Catholic Commentator

Scouts witnessed history on Aug. 23, during the Catholic Committee on Scouting’s Religious Award Ceremony at Our Lady of Mercy Church. Adult and youth scouts gathered with parents and family members Sunday afternoon to receive their religious emblem awards.

Page 10 scout photo 701978 copyPS.tif

Bishop Robert W. Muench spends time with a group of Cub Scouts and their leaders during the reception following the awards ceremony.


For the first time in the Diocese of Baton Rouge, two scouts, Elizabeth Anne and Sarah Sicard, received the Pillar of Faith awards. The Pillar of Faith award requires the recipient receives one local religious award, as well as four national awards.

“That means they’re doing religious awards from the time they are in second grade until they are seniors in high school,” said Barbara Sicard, Troop 10008 leader and Secretary of the Catholic Scouting Committee.

In addition, the Sicard sisters also received the Spirit Alive award, and 11 youth Girl Scouts received the Our Lady Award. Twenty-nine Boy Scouts received the Light of Christ Award, 31 received the Parvuli Dei Award and eight received the Our Lady Award.

The Our Lady award, specific to the Diocese of Baton Rouge requires recipients to participate in a project in which they teach the rosary to a catechism class.

“It’s a year-long process for them to earn this award … it’s very meaningful for them (the scouts) to hear the bishop speak directly to them,” said Nathalie Roy Mitchell, who had two daughters receive the award.

“I think they (the scouts) take a great sense of pride in it,” said Scott Harrington, a leader of Cub Scouts Pack 12 at Our Lady of Mercy. “We use this as a way to help form their Catholic education, and they see it that way too.”

Bishop Robert W. Muench also presented adult counselors with awards. Laurie Jernigan earned the St. George Emblem, Barbara Sicard achieved the St. Anne Award and Erick Comeaux and Kelly Poiencot each received the Bronze Pelican Award.

In continuing the scouts’ journey of faith, the Catholic Committee on Scouting will host a Rosary Patch Program for scouts on Oct. 18 at Our Lady of Mercy. This program will give an opportunity to achieve one of five patches in the Rosary Program.

The ceremony began as Knights of Columbus members lined the aisle of Our Lady of Mercy Church and award recipients proceeded into their pews followed by Bishop Muench. The congregation came together to recite the Pledge of Allegiance and sing “America the Beautiful.”

After the procession and introductions, Bishop Muench blessed the awards “to be a sign of love and goodness.” Following the blessing, the scouts received their awards from the bishop, who then addressed the scouts and congratulated them on their accomplishments.

“You worked hard, you did it and you made it!” said Bishop Muench. “God chose you, and God doesn’t make mistakes … in your being a human being, you could make yourself, others, our church, our community and our world a better place.”


Members of the Catholic Committee on Scouting stand with Bishop Robert W. Muench. The Catholic Committee on Scouting brings the Religious Emblem program to scouts registered in the Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, Camp Fire and American Heritage Girl Scouts Youth Programs within the Diocese of Baton Rouge. Pictured from left are, Kathleen Gora, chairman of scouter development; Nancy Simien, Boy Scout representative; Deacon Richard Grant, chaplain; Bishop Muench; Lenny Long, treasurer; Patricia Mathurin, Religious Emblem chair; and Barbara Sicard, communications.)

cub scouts1911PS.tif

All of the scouts lined up outside of Our Lady of Mercy Church to await the procession that marked the beginning of the awards ceremony.



Andrea Van Burkleo, left, and Robin Guillmette, far right, stand with their Girl Scouts at the reception following the awards ceremony.

Page 10 scout phoot 1 1926PS.tif

Deacon Richard Grant, chaplain of the Catholic Committee on Scouting, leads the invocation during the Scouting’s Religious Award Ceremony at Our Lady of Mercy Church in Baton Rouge on Aug. 23. Photos by Jessica Brouillette | The Catholic Commentator


Girl Scouts

Family of God

Troop 10896 – Mariana Cuadra, Grace Nelson 

Our Lady Award

Troop 10324 – Arizona Mitchell, Theresa Verret 

Troop 10460 – Alexis Baham, Kelty Balkum, Susana Cuadra, Kalina Namikas, Kylie Nguyen, Susanna Shields, Kelsey Young 

Spirit Alive

Troop 10008 – Elizabeth Sicard, Sarah Sicard 

Pillar of Faith

Troop 10008 – Elizabeth Sicard, Sarah Sicard 


Boy Scouts

Light of Christ Award 

Pack 7 – Martin Lanneau, Brennan Normand 

Pack 12 – Gavin Harrington 

Pack 65 – Connor Cornett, Jacob Duplessis, Kyler Dupuy, Travis Henry, Luke Legendre, Alexander Ocmond, Benjamin Poché

Pack 66 – Preston Guillory 

Pack 103 – Jackson Congemi, Christopher DeLaBrentonne, Austin Fruge, Joseph Landry, David Latil, Matthew Maynard, Benjamin Namikas, Henry Robin, Dylan Thibodeaux, Peyton Trigo

Pack 136 – Michael Aguillard, Evan Guilbeau, Jonathan MeKari, Archer Pounders, Shepherd Pounders

Pack 228 – Stephen Quebedeaux 

Pack 777 – Dillon Arceneaux, Cullen Ransome 

Parvuli Dei Award 

Pack 7 – Christian Comeaux, Kevin Crow, Nicholas Kolb, Kody Luff, Mark McCormick 

Pack 12 – Henry Albritton, Brooks Allen, Carson DiBenedetto, Robert Brocato, Paul Catalanatto, Ethan Dean, Harrison Dodge, Michael Griggs, Oliver Hamilton, Elliott Mouton 

Pack 15 – Arthur Donaldson 

Pack 39 – Nathan Berthelot 

Pack 66 – Benjamin Brown, Charles Flynn, Aiden Martin

Pack 103 – Nathan Caillouet, Alexander Stelly, James Weber

Pack 136 – Matthew Beall, William Busenlener, Reece Knight

Pack 469 – Cameron Avants 

Pack 490 – Brennan Collins, Jefferson Ricketts 

Pack 777 – Jonathan Dequeant 

Pack 942 – Michael Colligan 

Our Lady Award 

Pack 65 – Verdell Banner, Michael Besselman, Gabriel DeFee, Clyde Henry, Andrew Poché, Cade Russo, Evan Tassin, Grant Thevenot 


Adult Awards

St. George Award – Laurie Jernigan

St. Anne Award – Barbara Sicard 

Bronze Pelican – Erick Comeaux , Kelly Poiencot


Religious emblem counselors for 2015

Girl Scout Awards

Nathalie Mitchell – St. Jean Vianney 

Barbara Sicard – St. Jude 


Boy Scout Awards

Brian Aydell – Our Lady of Mercy 

Andrew Beall – St. George 

Ann Bernard – St. Aloysius 

Elizabeth Dequeant – Most Blessed Sacrament 

Genny Gohn – St. Thomas More 

Louis Hebert – St. Mary of False River 

Erin McLean – St. Jean Vianney 

Angela Poché – St. Mark 

Nancy Simien – St. John the Baptist 

Reneé Sims – St. Jude 

Robert Templet Jr. – Holy Rosary